Friday, April 1, 2022

In the West Bank, Israeli settlers with military escort raided Qaryut, leading to a confrontation with Palestinians; 2 were injured by baton rounds. Israeli forces shot and killed 1 Palestinian man during a raid in Hebron; Israeli forces claimed that the man had thrown a Molotov cocktail at the forces before they shot him in the head. Israeli forces also violently dispersed Palestinians commemorating Land Day in Bil‘in, injuring 1 with live ammunition and others with tear gas. Elsewhere, Israeli forces shot and injured 2 Palestinians using live ammunition during a raid in Bani Zeid. Israeli forces also violently dispersed Palestinian protesters in Kafr Qaddum, injuring 9, including 3 minors, using baton rounds; others suffered tear-gas related injuries. 14 Palestinians were arrested during late-night raids in al-Yamun, Bayt Rima, Beita, Salfit, Bethlehem, and Hebron. In East Jerusalem, 1 Palestinian woman was arrested at the Haram al-Sharif compound. In Gaza, 1 19-month-old Palestinian girl died after waiting 5 months for a permit to go to Israel to get surgery for a hole in her heart. Israeli forces opened fire at Palestinian farmers east of Dayr al-Balah; no injuries were reported. (AJ, GDN, HA, MEE, REU, WAFA, WAFA, WAFA, WAFA, WAFA, WAFA 4/1; PCHR 4/7; UNOCHA 4/10)

The UAE and Israel concluded negotiations on entering a free trade agreement, which will make 95% of trade products between the 2 countries custom free. The free trade agreement negotiations were part of the 2 countries’ normalization deal. (AJ, ALM, HA 4/1)

At the UN human rights council, 38 countries voted in favor of a resolution confirming the illegality of Israeli settlements in the occupied Palestinian territories and the Golan Heights. Ukraine, Lithuania, Brazil, Cameroon, and Honduras abstained and the U.S., the UK, the Marshall Islands, and Malawi voted against. 41 countries voted for a resolution confirming the Palestinian people’s right to self-determination. Lithuania, Cameroon, and Honduras abstained, while the U.S., the UK, and the Marshall Islands voted against. (PCHR, WAFA 4/1; JP 4/3; AA 4/4)