Tuesday, December 3, 2019

In the West Bank, 2 Palestinian families were notified that Israel intend to seize 4 dunums of their land in Jaba‘ for construction of a parking lot for Israeli military vehicles. A Palestinian family from Ya‘bad accused Israeli soldiers of stealing money and jewelry from their house during a late-night raid. Israeli forces also demolished 2 Palestinian-owned water tanks near Tubas and seized a cement mixer near Salfit. 12 Palestinians were arrested during late-night raids in and around Ramallah, Nablus, Jericho, and Hebron. In East Jerusalem, 2 Palestinians were detained in al-Aqsa Mosque during prayers; both were released after 5 hours of interrogation and banned from entering the mosque for 2 weeks. (WAFA, WAFA, WAFA, WAFA 12/3; PCHR 12/5)

During a visit by the Irish minister of foreign affairs Simon Coveney to Israel, Gaza, and the West Bank, the ministry announced that Ireland was funding a $8.8 million project for construction of solar panels in Gaza in partnership with the French Development Agency. Foreign Affairs Minister Coveney met with PA prime minister Mahmoud Abbas in Ramallah during his visit. (HA, WAFA 12/3)

In France, the French parliament passed a resolution to combat anti-Semitism that included anti-Zionism and criticism of Israel. The resolution adopted the language of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance’s working definition of anti-Semitism which equates some criticism of Israel as anti-Semitic. The resolution was passed despite a petition signed by 129 Jewish and Israeli scholars warning the French parliament about equating anti-Zionism with anti-Semitism. (HA 9/4)

At the UN, 5 resolutions pertaining to Israel and Palestine passed in the General Assembly. 13 countries changed their vote, compared to previous years, on the resolution in support of the Division for Palestinian Rights of the Secretariat. The 13 countries that previously abstained on the yearly vote were Germany, the Czech Republic, Austria, Bulgaria, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Brazil, and Colombia. The vote on that resolution passed 83 to 23, with 54 abstentions. (TOI 12/4; HA 12/5)